Latinx Book Recommendations

Like any other good book bloggers, Amber and I love reading and promoting diverse books! Some of my favourite recent reads have been by Latinx authors, and I have plenty more on my TBR that I want to get to soon, so I figured I’d share some of them on here, as well as finding a few more! Let me know your favourite book by a Latinx author, or if you loved any of the books on here… let’s go!

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida Cordova

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic. At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo she can’t trust, but who may be Alex’s only chance at saving her family. I had the opportunity to ask Zoraida Cordova a few questions about her latest book, Incendiary, if you want to check it out!

Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibanez

I absolutely adored this luscious, rich fantasy. It was breathtaking and beautiful and everything YA fantasy should be. Taking inspiration from Bolivian politics and history, Isabel Ibañez has woven a striking story of revolution, magic and romance in a stunning and cultural world.

Nocturna by Maya Motayne

Nocturna is one of my favourite YA fantasy books, and I really think it deserves ALL THE HYPE! Starring a badass, streetwise heroine and a soft, bookish prince, the only thing that stood out more than the characters was the gorgeous theme of cultural magic. Nocturna was full of friendship, adventure and banter as an approaching darkness threatens our heroes… I’m SO excited for book two, Oculta, which I think is out in Autumn!

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

One of my favourite books all year, this gorgeous story, written in poem, had me crying so much at the ending! When their father dies on a plane crash, two girls from different sides of the world discover that they have a secret sister their father never told them about. This book was absolutely stunning, lyrical and breathtaking. I adored Camino and Yahaira and I can’t wait to read more from Elizabeth Acevedo!

They Both Die at the End by Adam Silvera

They Both Die at The End is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story of love and loss, in a world where you are told the day you’ll die so you can make the most of it. I’ve read 3 of Adam Silvera’s books and this has been my favourite, but I really want to get to his most recent one, Infinity Son, soon!

We Didn’t Ask for This by Adi Alsaid

This one just came out a month ago, and my review is up here 🙂 It’s a powerful and witty story that discusses climate change and the power teenagers hold! There’s not a white cishet in sight but there is a f/f mutual pining storyline so clearly, this book is doing things right.

Cemetery Boys by Aidan Thomas

I probably shouldn’t include too many books that won’t be out for a while, but I am SO EXCITED FOR THIS BOOK. A trans main character, ghosts, m/m romance, and I’ve heard there’s a kickass queer girl in there too. I plan to preorder this very soon.

We Set the Dark on Fire by Tehlor Kay Mejia

A MUST READ!! Such a powerful and beautiful story about two girls who marry the same man and have to work past their differences and come together to bring equality to the town they live in. And of course, they fall in love in the process 😉

Dark and Deepest Red by Anna-Marie McLemore

Summer, 1518. A sickness sweeps through Strasbourg: women dance in the streets, some until they fall down dead. Five centuries later, a pair of red shoes seal to Rosella’s feet, making her dance uncontrollably. They draw her toward Emil, whose family was blamed for the fever five hundred years ago, discovering the truth may decide whether Rosella survives the red shoes.

The Tenth Girl by Sara Faring

A gripping mystery-thriller about a school that curses everyone who enters. A student goes missing, and suddenly both teachers and students are acting possessed, while our MC Mavi, must figure out what’s going on.

The Grief Keeper by Alexandra Villasante

This book is about Marisol, who will do anything to keep her and her sister in America after they immigrate to escape danger in their home town. Marisol becomes a grief keeper in a bargain that will keep them both in America, and although she’s not meant to meet the girl who’s heartbreak she has to now handle, they end up meeting and falling in love ❤

The Education of Margot Sanchez by Lilliam Rivera

A bold and romantic coming-of-age novel about dysfunctional families, good and bad choices, and finding the courage to question everything you ever thought you wanted. After “borrowing” her father’s credit card to finance a more stylish wardrobe, Margot
Sánchez suddenly finds herself grounded and she’s willing to do anything to get out of this punishment. Lie, cheat, and maybe even steal…

Don’t Date Rosa Santos by Nina Moreno

Rosa Santos is cursed by the sea-at least, that’s what they say. Dating her is bad news, especially if you’re a boy with a boat. But Rosa feels more caught than cursed. Caught between cultures and choices.

I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez

Perfect Mexican daughters do not go away to college. And they do not move out of their parents house after high school graduation. Perfect Mexican daughters never abandon their family. But Julia is not your perfect Mexican daughter. That was Olgas role.

Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

Sierra Santiago was looking forward to a fun summer of making art, hanging out with her friends, and skating around Brooklyn. But then a weird zombie guy crashes the first party of the season. Sierra’s near-comatose abuelo begins to say “Lo siento” over and over. And when the graffiti murals in Bed-Stuy start to weep… Well, something stranger than the usual New York mayhem is going on.

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera

Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that’s going to help her figure out this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. She’s interning with the author of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff.

Her Body and Other Parties by Carmen Maria Machado

In this electric and provocative debut, Machado bends genre to shape startling narratives that map the realities of women’s lives and the violence visited upon their bodies.

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

He is trying to poison me. You must come for me, Noemí. You have to save me. After receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemí Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find — her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemí knows little about the region.

You Had Me At Hola by Alexis Daria

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new “Leading Lady Plan” should be easy enough to follow—until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suárez.

Anger is A Gift by Mark Oshiro

Six years ago, Moss Jefferies’ father was murdered by an Oakland police officer. Along with losing a parent, the media’s vilification of his father and lack of accountability has left Moss with near crippling panic attacks. Now, in his sophomore year of high school, Moss and his fellow classmates find themselves increasingly treated like criminals by their own school.

Diamond City by Francesca Flores

Aina Solís is an assassin living in Diamond City. It’s a place ruled by tyrants with maze-like cities full of diamond mines. Blood magic like Aina’s is illegal, but she’ll do whatever it takes to protect it. When she’s assigned a new mission, Aina discovers that she’s the one who’s become a target.

The New David Espinoza by Fred Aceves

David Espinoza has been picked on for being skinny his whole life. But after a viral video of his beat-down by a bully gets turned into a meme, he vows to change his life. He spends the summer doing whatever it takes to bulk up. The New David Espinoza is an honest conversation about body dysmorphia and toxic masculinity.

This Train is Being Helf by Ismée Williams

Alex and Isa are both Latinx, but their families and lives could not be more different. After several chance-encounters on the New York City subway, they start seeing each other for real. With themes of privilege, mental health, and diaspora, this love story is bound to pack a punch.

Tigers Not Daughters by Samantha Mabry

The Torres sisters dream of escape. Escape from their needy and despotic widowed father, and from their San Antonio neighborhood, full of old San Antonio families and all the traditions and expectations that go along with them.

A Breath Too Late by Rocky Callen

Seventeen-year-old Ellie had no hope left. Yet the day after she dies by suicide, she finds herself in the midst of an out-of-body experience. She is a spectator, swaying between past and present, retracing the events that unfolded prior to her death.

Santiago’s Road Home by Alexandra Diaz

The coins in Santiago’s hand are meant for the bus fare back to his abusive abuela’s house. Except he refuses to return; he won’t be missed. His future is uncertain until he meets the kind, maternal María Dolores and her young daughter, Alegría, who help Santiago decide what comes next: He will accompany them to el otro lado, the United States of America.

Don’t Ask Me Where I’m From by Jennifer de Leon

First-generation American LatinX Liliana Cruz does what it takes to fit in at her new nearly all-white school. But when family secrets spill out and racism at school ramps up, she must decide what she believes in and take a stand.

Where We Go from Here by Lucas Rocha

An absorbing debut novel about three gay young adults in Brazil whose lives become intertwined in the face of HIV, perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Bill Konigsberg.Ian has just been diagnosed with HIV. Victor, to his great relief, has tested negative. Henrique has been living with HIV for the past three years.

Where Are You From? by Yamile Saied Méndez

A picture book in which a girl who is asked where she’s really from turns to her abuelo for the answer.

2 thoughts on “Latinx Book Recommendations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s